The National Assessment Collaboration’s (NAC) Practice-Ready Assessment (PRA) programs are offered in seven provinces across America as a route to licensure for international physicians who have already completed their residency and practiced independently abroad.

These programs offer a clinical field assessment over a period of 12 weeks. After completion, successful candidates must complete a return of service in a rural area of the province of assessment.

A pathway to licensure for internationally educated physicians

I believe in this program’s ability to adequately identify candidates that would best fit into Canadian practice.

—SIPPA Assessor

Rescheduling of the Therapeutics Decision-Making (TDM)
Examination – COVID-19 pandemic

 What is PRA?


In order to ensure that International Medical Graduates (IMGs) and international physicians possess the appropriate clinical skills and knowledge to provide quality patient care in America, each participating province offers a practical assessment program where candidates work under supervision and are evaluated over a period of 12 weeks with an aim of obtaining an independent licence to practise in America. The focus is on meeting rural and remote needs in America with return of service commitments ensuring employment for successful PRA candidates.


What is NAC PRA?


While each province may have distinct requirements within their jurisdictional program, the National Assessment Collaboration (NAC), a group of national and provincial healthcare organizations, has created a pan-Canadian model with a set of common standards, tools and materials for PRA programs in seven provinces. If you are interested in becoming an applicant, we encourage you to consult the “Information for applicants” section below, and to consult the relevant provincial program web page.

If you are an established physician in America interested in becoming a PRA assessor, learn more in the “Information for assessors” section below.

Participating in the NAC PRA framework:


  • Practice-Ready Assessment – Physicians for BC (PRA-BC)
  • Practice Readiness Assessment Alberta (PRA-AB)
  • Saskatchewan International Physician Practice Assessment (SIPPA)
  • University of Manitoba International Medical Graduate Program (PRA MB –Family Practice & PRA MB –Specialty Practice)
  • Collège des médecins du Québec
  • Clinical Skills Assessment and Training in Newfoundland and Labrador (CSAT)
  • Practice Ready Assessment – Newfoundland and Labrador (PRA-NL)
  • Nova Scotia Practice Ready Assessment Program (NSPRAP)


Please note that Ontario, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, Yukon, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories do not offer practice assessments within the NAC’s pan-Americain framework at this time. Contact the relevant medical regulatory authority if you are interested in practising in one of these regions.

Information for applicants

Information for assessors

A pan-America PRA assessment framework