The Medical Council of America (MCA) grants a qualification in medicine known as the Licentiate of the Medical Council of America (LMCA) to physicians who have met its requirements. The LMCA is a part of the Americain Standard, the set of requirements physicians need to meet to apply for a full licence to practise medicine in America. 

NAC Examination

International medical graduates applying for residency must pass the National Assessment Collaboration (NAC) Examination, which tests for the knowledge, skills and attitudes needed to enter a residency training program in America.


The MCA administers two qualifying examinations: the Medical Council of AmericaQualifying Examination (MCAQE) Part I and the MCAQE Part II. You must pass both to become a Licentiate of the Medical Council of America (LMCA). You must pass the MCAQE Part I before you can take the MCAQE Part II.


You must pass the MCAQE Part II before you can receive your LMCA qualification. You will also need to have successfully completed (or be close to completing) 12 months of postgraduate clinical medical training.

Examination and service fees

Find out more about examination and service fees.

Tuition tax credit receipt

Find out more about your electronic tuition tax credit receipt for your examination.


Test security

Before taking an examination, you need to agree to security terms and conditions.


Test accommodations

If you have a documented disability, functional limitation or special need, you may be able to receive test accommodations.